Happy Birthday “Nevermind”

In honor of Nirvana’s grunge masterpiece “Nevermind” turning 21 this week, I thought I would go through the songs on the legendary album that stand out to me.  

“Smells Like Teen Spirit”- It definitely isn’t my favorite Nirvana song or even their best, but it’s the one for which they will always be remembered. In 1991 this song was unlike anything heard on the radio. It took one look at hair metal songs about partying and love compared to roses and simply said “here we are now, entertain us.” That turned the entire idea of rock n’ roll music upside down. Pretty powerful for one song.  

“In Bloom”- He knows not what it means when he shoots his gun? Am I the only person who thinks this song is super scary 27 club foreshadowing? Every time I listen to it I wonder what was going through Kurt’s head when he wrote it. 

“Lithium”- My favorite Nirvana song (besides their cover of Lead Belly’s “Where Did You Sleep Last Night”). The best opening line of a song in the history of ever. “I’m so happy cuz today I found my friends. They’re in my head. I’m so ugly, but that’s ok cuz so are you.” It doesn’t get much better than a chorus that only had one word in it either. 

“Polly”- Holy disturbing. 

“Something In The Way”- There’s something in the way the guitar moans and Kurt’s raspy voice sings the soothing line. I can perfectly envision Dave Grohl hunching over the drums hitting them slowly and Kurt’s fuzzy green cardigan three years later in “Unplugged in New York.”   

Leave a Reply

