Award Season Reviews!

January 1st means award season is HERE! The Golden Globes are in 12 days people! I have been working like crazy to make sure I see all of the movies nominated, so I can make an informed decision about what deserves gold and Mr. Oscar. Unfortunately, there are quite a few movies that are in no man’s land right now, meaning they either came out September-Octoberish time and are no longer in theaters or they are not on DVD so I can’t see them. The other problem is there will always be those annoying movies that three people actually get to see and us normal people can’t seem to find them anywhere. Nonetheless, I am going to be making due with what I can see as always. This is NOT my Globes preview because I haven’t seen every big movie yet (I need “Les Mis” and “Zero Dark Thirty.” I’m working on it!). I thought I would give a brief review of the movies I have been able to see so far to tie you over.

“Argo”- I’ve written about how obsessed I am with “Argo” before, so I won’t rehash al the details. It is way too good. If it doesn’t end up winning Best Picture (I have a feeling “Zero Dark Thirty” is going to take all of the big ones. I still have to see it, but I just have a feeling it’s going to sweep) Ben Affleck at least has to win for Best Director. I mean come on! He completely deserves it and Tarantino does not (I’ll get to that later). I will be extremely upset if “Argo” doesn’t get recognized for anything.

“Silver Linings Playbook”- I no this has no chance at Best Picture because it’s a comedy, but I really loved it. Bradley Cooper is bipolar, Jennifer Lawrence has no arrows and proves she is a genius actress, and Robert De Niro is crazier than the both of them put together. Combine these three sharp characters, the Philadelphia Eagles and a dance contest and you have an almost perfect movie. Right now Bradley is a Best Actor runner for me. He is insane and heartwarming at the same time. If you refuse to see all of the other movies nominated at least make an effort to see this one. You will like it, I promise. You come out of this movie with hope in your heart. That’s not something you usually get from a film during award season. Excelsior!

“Django Unchained”- Ugh, Quentin Tarantino. He loves guns, blood, nudity, and pissing people off. That’s exactly what “Django Unchained” did for me. I was fully enjoying myself through the first two hours, but then it just got so…stupid. Seriously Tarantino? That’s how you chose to end it? Ugh. It could have been a great movie about slavery redemption and then it just fell apart at the end and had no point. I love Jamie Foxx and he did a pretty good job, but I was a little disappointed in Dicaprio! I can’t believe I just said that. I just thought he would be in the movie more and would have more of a point to the story. I mean he did, but I blame Tarantino for making a movie that could have had a great ending instead of an extremely annoying blood bath. It’s getting old dear. Speaking of blood, it was so fake and cheesy looking I laughed out loud when a couple guys got shot and that is not a good sign. I get he wanted it to look like an old western, but it made the story all that more unbelievable. The best part as always was Christopher Waltz. Dude is such an evil genius! He kills everything he does. Jennifer Lawrence and him should make a movie together. SPOILER: The movie completely sucks as soon as he (shocker) gets shot.

“Lincoln”- I’ll admit it, I had my doubts. I should know by now to never doubt Daniel Day Lewis. He’s another evil genius. Although I think he might have just turned into Abraham Lincoln for this. He was exactly what I imagine when I think of our 16th prez. He was wicked smart and calm, which is exactly how he got the U.S. through the Civil War. Day Lewis shows us how Lincoln got stuff done. The story itself was really fascinating too. It’s all about Lincoln’s goal to get the 13th Amendment passed in the House and how he was in his own right an evil genius to get what he wanted. I think Lincoln and Christopher Waltz would have gotten along, I really do. Sally Field played a pretty good (and by good I mean crazy) Mary Todd and my only real complaint was Joseph Gordon-Levitt wasn’t in the movie enough.

“Flight”- How would you feel if your pilot was drunk and coked out of his mind while he was operating the plane you were flying in? What if I told you that your plane was about to crash and he flipped it upside down and saved most of the passengers on board? Is he a hero or should he be put in jail? That is the big question of “Flight.” Denzel Washington plays this alcoholic pilot and the film follows his all too real struggle with alcohol and drugs. Yes, it’s dark, but it was also really good and actually had an ending that made sense. Denzel gives a great performance, but you really need to see this because John Goodman plays a drug dealer. Enough said.

“The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel”- Let me start off by saying if you are say 20 years old and haven’t heard of half of these movies then please do not watch this movie. If you are like me and enjoy good filmmaking then you should consider checking this one out. It’s basically about old people realizing that life can go on even after you can get your senior citizen discount. It was cute and lighthearted and I did mind it. It has a pretty uplifting feeling to it and the view of India in it is definitely worth checking out.

“Hope Springs”- Please, avoid this movie. I love Meryl Streep to death. She is the best, but this movie is terrible. It’s not because I didn’t like the subject of old people having sex, it’s just one of the saddest movies I’ve ever seen. It’s not funny at all and poor Tommy Lee Jones ends up looking like a complete loser. These are two amazing actors, but the story is just not something you can put into a movie and actually expect people to be comfortable watching and come out enjoying it. They just gave Meryl a Golden Globe nomination to commend her for making it out of this movie alive.

“Moonrise Kingdom”- I know what you’re thinking. What the hell is this? Truthfully, I have no idea, but I do know that I kind of liked it. It’s super weird, which means it will probably win something. It has a ton of famous actors in it like Bill Murray, Edward Norton, Frances McDormand, and Bruce Willis who are searching for two 12 year old kids who have fallen in love and run away with each other. Yeah, it makes no sense, but somehow it was enjoyable.

That’s all for now! Stay tuned for more!

Leave a Reply

