The Week In Review

I’ve been conflicted all week over what to write about. It’s not because there isn’t anything worth writing about this week it’s that there is so much to write about! First of all, I am insanely excited about Fleetwood Mac going on tour this year. I was practically raised on “Rumours.” The fact that they are also re-releasing “Rumours” with some tracks that have never been heard before excites me to the point that I am having a hard time concentrating on anything else. I mean, come on! Who doesn’t love Fleetwood Mac? They’re the band with the troubles, the switching partners, the anger, the sexual tension, the grudges, and a guy named Lindsey and a girl named Stevie. What more could you ask for? There are also not a lot of bands out there that are considered better live than on their original recordings (or so I’m told). You know if the recordings are THAT good their live show has to be out of this world. I’ve been listening to “The Dance” non-stop since I was six, so I think it’s about time I saw them live for myself. A tour like this doesn’t come along very often! I’m trying to recruit a friend to go with me to one of their shows sometime this year.

This week also marked a historic ending to the long running comedy show “30Rock.” I read an article in the USA Today that said “30Rock” could have lasted way more than seven years if the show hadn’t lost its charm. Lost its charm? Yeah right! I always use the “Friends” analogy when it comes to TV shows ending. “Friends” was great. One of my favorites. But somewhere down the line during those ten years the writers ran out of things for the friends to do. There are only so many times Ross and Rachel could almost get back together than magically get mad at each other again and than have a baby (with Joey, Chandler, Monica, and Phoebe somewhere in between). There was only so much Liz Lemon could do with Jenna, Tracy, and of course Jack. There was only so much Tina Fey could do. It’s not that the show ran out of steam and got stupid either (like Glee. Although that is still going strong). It didn’t use up all of their good jokes in the first season (like Glee) and their characters only got funnier and more ridiculous (like Glee). The difference between shows that run out of steam and “30Rock?” Tina Fey. Tina is quite possibly the smartest lady in showbizz. Ratings for the show were dropping sure, but Tina knew that the characters were at a good point in their lives, Liz Lemon was good, Jack was good, and Tina was good. She ended her show before it could loose it’s appeal and clever jokes. “30Rock” was a lot like a “Seinfeld” type of show. It was about nothing really, but at the same time it was about Tina and her ability to tell a joke. She knew that those seven years she entertained as Liz were good and she should leave well enough alone. That is why I respect her so much. You have to admit that you teared up when Jack told Liz he loved her (in a non-romantic way of course) and almost sailed away on that boat. If that made me tear up I don’t even want to think about what’s going to happen during “The Office” finale. I can’t even handle thinking about it right now.

Lastly, there is a rather big event coming up tomorrow; The Super Bowl. And of course as with every year, no one cares about the football. We want the commercials and the half time show. It’s ok you can be honest with yourself. Beyonce is heading the half time show this year and everyone was excited about it until she lip synched the National Anthem at the Inauguration. I’ve tried keeping my mouth shut about the incident, but unfortunately her decision to pre-record the song is affecting how people think she will do during the Super Bowl half time. Here’s my thoughts: On one hand I don’t really give a crap that she lip synced the National Anthem. I mean, it’s Beyonce. We all know she can sing. I kind of understand what she said in the statement she made that she hadn’t rehearsed with the band, she was feeling a little unsure about the whole performance and didn’t want to mess it up. I get that. I would be nervous if I had to sing in front of the President and more importantly Joe Biden if I was a multi-platinuem recording artist too. I get why she did it and I’m not going to hold it against her. HOWEVER, I also feel like ok B you are probably the best singer of our generation, you’re pals with Obama, you have millions of fans and people that look up to you, I know you weren’t well rehearsed, but I think Beyonce could have handled it. I know it’s not an easy song to sing. I know you were worried, but girl we all love you. That’s why everyone is so disappointed with you. I would rather have someone hit the wrong note or be a little shaking instead of faking it all together. With that being said I don’t really think this will affect the half time show. She will be singing live and I’m sure will never lip sync again. It will be a good performance. She will work her butt off and gain back our respects no doubt. We forgave Janet for showing us her boob, we forgave Brit when she kissed Madonna, we forgave Christina for being dirty, and we will forgive Beyonce for her incident too. Everyone stop freaking and just enjoy the show tomorrow. Maybe even watch a little of the game while you’re at it.

Leave a Reply

