The Oscars: Who Should Win/Who Will Win

Here we are. Sunday is the big day. No more waiting. No more complaining. The Academy members have voted. The Oscars are here.

I could go on and on, but we all know how I feel by now. Let’s get to the should win/will win debate shall we?

Best Picture
Should Win: Ok, let’s just jump right into it! My favorite movie of award season this year is “The Wolf of Wall Street.” It will never win. I know that. Too many naked women for the Academy. However, I would highly recommend the film to anyone who wants to see a great story about a real life man who learned a lesson about greed the hard way. Plus, it doesn’t get better than DiCaprio, Jonah Hill, and Marty Scorsese.
Will Win: Is it bad if I say at this point I don’t care? It comes down to “American Hustle” and “12 Years a Slave.” Although I think “American Hustle” deserves to win it will be the movie about slavery. Can you image all of the Tyler Perry-types that will come out of the woodwork if the Academy doesn’t choose a movie about slavery? Think about it.

Actor in a Leading Role
Should Win: You already know my answer. It is Leo’s time. His performance as Jordan Belfort in “Wolf” is nothing short of perfection. He gives the character as much humor and depth as he does sympathy and pure debauchery. He’s an awful man, but in the end you will root for him because Leo makes you want to see this character survive and become better. That Oscar belongs to DiCaprio. This is the role of his career. I can’t wait for J-Law to open the envelope and say his name.
Will Win: As much as I want to confidently say it will be Leo, Matthew McConaughey is making me nervous. If this was any other year I would root for Matthew, but that Oscar belongs to Leo. Matthew just started to make good movies this year. Leo has been doing it since he was a teenager. I will be on the edge of my seat all night waiting for this one. I can’t even…

Actress in a Leading Role
Should Win: This is such a throw away category this year, even with Meryl. I just do not care. Probably because the Best Actor category is much closer to my heart. However, when I really try to think about it, I want Amy Adams to win. Seems like she’s getting close to Meryl-size nomination numbers, but she has never won. She’s an incredible actress and her role in “American Hustle” really helps prove it. I’d like to see her win.
Will Win: Cate Blanchett. For another stupid Woody Allen movie. Excuse me while I puke.

Actor in a Supporting Role
Should Win: I have to first give a shout out to one of my favorite people Jonah Hill. Proud of you babe! He’s almost as good as DiCaprio in “Wolf.” With that being said, I’m sorry Jonah, but this is Jared Leto’s Oscar. No doubt about it.
Will Win: Jared Leto. No doubt about it.

Actress in a Supporting Role
Should Win: I want to see a back to back winning and a good old surprise speach so my vote will always be for Jennifer Lawrence. She’s not even in “American Hustle” that much, but she kind of makes the movie.
Will Win: Although “12 Years a Slave’s” Lupita Nyong’o has been picking up some major awards, I think the Academy may just go with J-Law again this year.

Animated Feature Film

Should Win: “Frozen.” “Frozen.” “Frozen.”
Will Win: “Frozen.” Duh.

Directing
Should Win: It always bothers me when the great David O. Russell doesn’t win awards. “American Hustle” would be nothing without his directing skills. He deserves an Oscar already.
Will Win: Alfonso Cuarón for “Gravity.” Ugh. Whatever.

Music- Original Score
Should Win: “Saving Mr. Banks.” What’s better than “Mary Poppins” music re-imagined?! And it should win something since it got snubbed in every other category! Sometimes the Academy can be so stupid.
Will Win: I don’t know, probably something dumb like “Gravity.”

Music- Original Song

Should Win: “Let It Go” from “Frozen.” I mean, has there been a better Disney film and music since “The Lion King?”
Will Win: Stupid U2. I don’t think I can bare another Bono speech. It was bad enough having to suffer through him on Jimmy Fallon’s first night of “The Tonight Show.”

Writing- Adapted Screenplay
Should Win: My favorite categories are the writing ones for obvious reasons. This year’s adapted screenplay award should go to Terence Winter for “The Wolf of Wall Street.” One, because it is so well crafted in Jordan Belfort’s voice and two, because that movie would have never worked without a smart script.
Will Win: Hard to say, actually. Maybe “Philomena?”

Writing- Original Screenplay

Should Win: David O. Russell and Eric Warren Singer for “American Hustle.” Because David O. Russell deserves a freaking Oscar already. #teamLeo #teamDavidO.Russell
Will Win: That douche bag Woody Allen who won’t even bother to show up.

Check out the full list of nominees here and wish me luck that the Best Actor category doesn’t literally kill me on Sunday.

Leave a Reply

