March 24, 1984

Today is my favorite day of the year. No, it’s not my birthday. March 24th is the anniversary of that fateful day in 1984 when The Breakfast Club met for their Saturday detention.

Today happens to be the 30th anniversary of the club’s detention. I know what you’re thinking. “That’s just a movie. It’s not a real date.” You are wrong. March 24th is a very important date. To me at least.

I remember the first time I watched “The Breakfast Club.” It was with my parents. My dad said he didn’t remember much about the 80s staple and my mom told me I should pay no attention to the constant swearing in the film. Please. I was maybe 13 or 14 then.

To say that “The Breakfast Club” had a little significant impact on my life would be like saying Pink Floyd had a little significant impact on stoners’ lives everywhere. It’s my favorite movie of all time.

It’s my favorite for a number of reasons. 1) It’s pretty culturally significant. I mean 30 years later we are still references it. 2) It’s one of those movies every teenager has to see. 3) Even though it was made 30 years ago, every single idea in that movie is still true and can be applied to any teenager’s (and even adult’s) life.

As I’ve mentioned, high school sucked. I think the kids in detention in the movie would agree. It’s not a great place to be, but the movie presents the idea that we all have that internal struggle no matter what our high school experience was like. Teenagers are all different, but in a way they are really all the same. That idea can also be applied to adults.

Even though I am not in high school anymore (and I thank God everyday that I’m not), “The Breakfast Club” still plays a huge role in my life. Sometimes I find myself asking WWJBD (What Would John Bender Do?). Not that he was the best example, but Bender was never afraid to point out the obvious problems. I want to be able to point out the obvious in my life. I don’t want to have to live behind a lie just because I think people will like me better that way.

Maybe the biggest lesson I learned from that movie that I still think about at 21 years old is the idea that “We’re all pretty bizarre.” No one can define what it truly means to be normal, so why try to conform to any sort of idea of normal? Translation (and it’s a simple one): Just be yourself. Everyone is different, but we have a lot more in common than you could ever know.

If nothing else, “The Breakfast Club” provided me with a lot of great quotes and insults that I use in my head daily when people are bothering me. I guess it taught me how to deal with crazy, too.

I’ll leave you with the best movie line ever written. Thanks John Hughes.

“Brian Johnson: Dear Mr. Vernon, we accept the fact that we had to sacrifice a whole Saturday in detention for whatever it was we did wrong. What we did *was* wrong. But we think you’re crazy to make an essay telling you who we think we are. You see us as you want to see us… In the simplest terms, in the most convenient definitions. But what we found out is that each one of us is a brain…

Andrew Clark: …and an athlete…

Allison Reynolds: …and a basket case…

Claire Standish: …a princess…

John Bender: …and a criminal…

Brian Johnson: Does that answer your question?… Sincerely yours, the Breakfast Club.”

Leave a Reply

