10 Movies All Women Should See in Their 20s

I hate girly articles that tell me what to do. They try to tell me what kind of clothes to buy, what apps to download, and what to do about boys. And they do it all by telling me that I have to do all of these perfect things when I’m still in my 20s. What does that even mean?! Can I not accomplish anything after I leave my 20s? Oh, who cares! Cosmo can’t tel me what to do!

Since I’m tired of seeing posts in my newsfeed that involved the word “women” that tell me how to live out my 20s I’ve decided to make one of my own. It’s better, too. It involves one of my favorite things; movies.

We can learn a lot from movies (the good ones). Some films have leading ladies we can learn from, others have (gasp) men that can inspire women, too. Here are 10 movies that every young lady should see.

10. “The Departed”

Most girls think two things about this movie “Oh Leo is in it!” and then “But I can’t follow it and it’s too violent.” Oh please. “The Departed” is an outstanding movie and just because everyone dies in the end (oops sorry you should have really already seen it) doesn’t mean you can’t learn from it. It’s about survival and what people are willing to do for it. Plus, you haven’t lived until you’ve seen Jack Nicholson play a mob boss. After all, mob movies are the best. They make you think. It’s a good thing.

9. “Django Unchained”
I’ll just get all the violence out of the way first. You don’t understand life until you’ve seen a Tarantino movie and this one is the one with the easiest plot and point to discover. We all know the controversy with this movie. We all get why it’s tabu, but I encourage everyone to get out of their comfort zone. I think it’s fairly obvious that not much shocks or offends me. Even if a film like “Django” isn’t really your favorite (and it is by no means mine either) that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t see it. You should so you can be culturally educated.

8. “Anastasia”
The perfect Disney movie! Oh wait, it’s not. It’s a better princess movie than Disney could ever make. Why? It’s realistic. Sort of. So the real Anastasia probably didn’t survive the whole palace takeover, but in the movie she does and she learns that princess stuff is dumb and that she just wants to find her grandma. Yes she falls in love with Dimitri (the hottest animated dude ever), but she’s the one who calls the shots. She defeats Rasputin on her own and actually saves Dimitri in the process.

7. “Star Wars”
Technically it’s 6 movies and counting or whatever, but if you’re a female and you don’t appreciate “Star Wars” then you should reevaluate your pop culture. Sure, it’s had the whole not a lot of female character controversy, but again, who cares? Have a little fun.

6. “The Breakfast Club”
My favorite. You can learn three things from this movie: 1) We are all losers. 2) Everyone has a story. Don’t judge a book by its cover. 3) John Bender is everything.

5. “The Graduate”
Dustin Hoffman can, for some reason, teach us all about the fear that comes with graduating college. We might not all have affairs with old ladies, but maybe, just maybe, it’s OK not to know the answers to everything when we first graduate.

4. “Tommy Boy”

I often wonder what life would be like if Chris Farley was still alive. Then I get sad. Then I remember that he left us “Tommy Boy” and I feel better. If you can’t laugh at stupidity every once and a while then what’s the point of even having a sense of humor? This movie is cheesy and dumb to the max and that’s why I love it. Also, Tommy has a girlfriend, Michelle, and in one scene some kids are making fun of Tommy’s weight and Michelle comes to his defense. She’s a kick-ass young woman who shows that true love comes in all shapes ans sizes. So there.

3. “When Harry Met Sally…”

It might be the most cliche rom-com of all time, but it’s important for every woman to see at least once. The age old questions WHMS answers is can men and women be just friends? The answer is up to you of course, but I think WHMS will help you figure it out whether you agree with the last scene in the film or not.

2. “As Good As It Gets”

Another one of my favorites, “As Good As It Gets” is my favorite style of movie. It’s a rom-com you don’t necessarily see coming at first. It can teach you that the big fancy relationship stuff Cosmo tries to sell you cannot be duplicated in real life. Because real life is much messier than that. Life is not Cosmo-perfect and you shouldn’t feel like it should be.

1. “The Social Network”
In my personal opinion, “The Social Network” is easily the best film of the last decade. Why? It documents one of the biggest cultural phenomenons ever, but Mark Zuckerberg can teach you a thing or two about relationships. He may deny that the whole Erica Albright thing was real, but the Hollywood version of Zuckerberg (true to real life or not) can teach you a lot about how NOT to act in a functioning society. “You’re not an asshole, Mark. You’re just trying so hard to be.” Don’t try to be an asshole in life.

Leave a Reply

