The Influence of ‘When Harry Met Sally…”

I am Harry Burns. I’m sassy and cynical. I get annoyed easily and have lots of rules about life.

Or maybe I’m Sally Albright. I worry about the future. I am constantly over-analyzing my relationships (or lack there of) with men.

Either way, we are all a little bit like Harry and Sally and “When Harry Met Sally…” is the movie that teaches us all to question one of life’s great mysteries; can men and women be just friends?

I will not offer my thoughts on that subject (because, as always, they are complicated), but I will say that WHMS taught me a lot of things. I guess it sort of taught me about relationships, but it also taught me about truly good film-making and excellent script writing.

Not that much happens in WHMS. Actually, it’s more like a 90 minute episode of “Seinfeld.” It’s mostly just Billy Crystal and Meg Ryan talking back and forth to each other. And it is absolutely perfect.

Besides like, you know, “Citizen Kane” and “Billy Madison” (lolz), WHMS is the best movie ever. It is because it’s one of the closest things there is to real life. Real thoughts. Real human emotion. Real awkward situations.

I am in love with film because of movies like “When Harry Met Sally…” Lighting and producing don’t necessarily matter to me. I don’t care about special effects. I don’t really even care about having a super famous actor in a movie. What I do care about is a good script with good dialogue and even better story telling. And that is “When Harry Met Sally…”

So in honor of the 25th anniversary of one of my favorite movies I say thank you to Rob Reiner for fantastic direction and Nora Ephron for one of the smartest scripts. It inspires me everyday. It inspires me to write better. It inspires me to have more meaningful conversations. It inspires me to be sassier like Harry. It inspires me to be more optimistic like Sally. It inspires me to maybe believe in love.

One thought on “The Influence of ‘When Harry Met Sally…”

  1. When Harry Met Sally is special to me because it was the movie where I first fell in love with Meg Ryan.
    I once watched it on a date, and couldn’t help moaning and gasping whenever Meg would do something… roll her eyes, deliver a line, laugh… my date continually elbowed me in the ribs and got very agitated. No second date for us, but my love for Meg Ryan movies endures to this day.

Leave a Reply

