Understanding ‘Gone Girl’

I finally saw “Gone Girl” last night! It was exactly how I wanted it to be, but I was surprised by the end of the film.

“Gone Girl’s” ending didn’t shock me, though. It was the reaction of almost everyone in the theater that did.

People were not happy and that really confused me. Was it not like the book? Were the old ladies in back of me offended by all the sex? Were the awkward teenagers in front of me confused by Tyler Perry as a lawyer?

I didn’t understand. I thought the film was excellent. It’s a great way to start off award season. Yet, people around me were not happy. Maybe I don’t understand because I’m not married. I can’t even begin to feel what it must be like to not trust the person you legally vow to love unconditionally forever. Maybe I can’t understand what it’s like to be in a relationship where one of the people is crazy, because let’s face it, Amy Dunne is crazy. Or maybe it’s because I’m not feminist enough. Were people upset because the woman was the one who was painted as a killer crazy in the end?

I felt bad coming out of the theater with such joy, while everyone else looked like they were going to be sick. And then I remembered that not a lot of people have a high tolerance for movies like I do. I don’t get offended easily. Especially with a movie. I own “The Wolf of Wall Street” because it’s a great film. I can look past all the boobs to understand great film making. I sometimes forget people are more sensitive than I am.

Sure I love comedy, but I also really enjoy Oscar-winning film making. Movies like “Gone Girl” show us a reality. That’s something a lot of comedy movies can’t do. The writing of “Gone Girl” is excellent (maybe because it was written by a journalist). I can spend hours fangirling over screenplay writing, because I believe that a good script is what makes a film great. “Gone Girl” makes you think, makes you take a step back to think of how scary and, in my opinion, how interesting reality can be.

I hope people keep an open mind this award season. Movies that push us, that make us feel something are the ones that win awards because that’s what powerful film making is all about. It’s OK to feel uncomfortable at the movies sometimes. It helps you look at things a little deeper.

So keep an open mind. You never know what you might learn during award season.

Leave a Reply

