Thoughts on the 2015 Grammy Awards

Oh the Grammys. My least favorite award show.

What is it about the music industry’s biggest award that I’ve learned to just not care about? Is it the fact that they only televise the pop categories? Is it because winners are almost too predictable as in too mainstream? Is it because most rightful winners are never even nominated because Taylor Swift is too busy taking up their spots?

I actually don’t have an answer for this. I just know that the Grammys are disappointing. When things like the Emmys or even the Oscars disappoint me I can kind of let it settle. I don’t have HBO so I can’t really have a critical voice on some shows and if I haven’t seen some foreign language film how can I have an opinion on it?

Music is different. I hear music everyday. I purposefully listen to all kinds of music to stay well-rounded. I know when a song or album is truly good and when it is terrible.

Some Grammy nominees are correct of course like Sam Smith, Ed Sheeran, and and Miley Cyrus. Others? Atrocious. Why must we continue to make music like that of Katy Perry and Iggy Azalea relevant? Fine if you want to play it on the radio for junior high kids but “Dark Horse” is not worthy enough to represent the best in music.

Popular music is often hard for me to stomach. It’s made with hardly any love with a focus on how much money Rihanna can spin it for. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good car singing session of Taylor Swift’s “Shake It Off,” but why must we say that lines like “haters gonna hate hate hate” are the best music has to offer? I mean “Anaconda” is nominated for best rap song. Let that sink in. Let’s do better this year music.

 

Leave a Reply

