2015 Oscars: Unpopular Opinion

This time of year I normally like to write about who I think should win an Oscar and who will most definitely win. But I’m not doing that this year.

That’s mainly because most of the Oscar categories have clear winners. We all know “Boyhood” is Best Picture. We know that Julianne Moore is Best Actress. We can even place a heavy bet on “Birdman” for Original Screenplay. Simply put: This year is too easy, so I don’t care.

There’s only one category that has no clear winner and it’s the only one I care about this year; Best Actor. So, here’s a little open letter to The Academy:

Dear Academy Voters,

Please make the right choice this year for Best Actor.

I know, Eddie Redmayne is adorable and playing a scientist with ALS makes him even more appealing, but he should not win. No offense Eddie! I still like you! You can win a different time, OK?

Academy, I ask you to please consider your options. I know you know the one I’m talking about. I know you know the rightful winner of Best Actor is Bradley Cooper.

I’m not just saying that because he is pretty and I’m a fan.

Let’s look at the facts, shall we? He’s been nominated now three years in a row. And you’ve snubbed him every time. The first two losses made sense, of course, but this time it does not.

“American Sniper” was the best picture of the year, but because Hollywood is afraid of guns and because “the media” (term used lightly here) has complained so much about the film I bet you voters are running away from that check box on your ballot.

Don’t. If you can’t give “American Sniper” the credit and love it deserves because you can’t see past your politics then at least give Coops the Oscar.

He plays Chris Kyle so well. After I finished watching “The Theory of Everything” I felt like I was going to throw up. It was way too cheesy to be an Oscar nominated movie. When I left the theater after just seeing “American Sniper” I couldn’t stop crying and I couldn’t speak. It was the only film this year that made me feel something.

And if you think Cooper is too Hollywood pretty boy for an Oscar then you’re also wrong. That dude went from being a tool in “Wedding Crashers” (ugh sorry to bring that up) and became the guy we loved in “Silver Linings Playbook.” And he’s doing “Elephant Man” on Broadway right now.

He’s a real actor. One that commits to a role and cares about the character. Redmayne’s portrayal of Hawking feels like some lame impression Jimmy Fallon asked him to do quick on his show.

“The Theory of Everything” was fine. It was not the best. “American Sniper” was on a whole different planet. Nothing can compete with “Boyhood” for Best Picture, but Cooper’s role in “American Sniper” is the closest we’ll get.

So Academy, what will your choice be? Reward the average or look past the hype at the true artist?

Sincerely always with love and frustration,

Stephanie Kocer

 

P.S.- When you make the wrong choice — because I know you’re going to — remember that I will be standing in front of my TV in my apartment screaming at you.

 

Leave a Reply

