Becoming an adult is strange.

Greetings! If you’ve noticed I haven’t written in a while and I apologize. But I have an exciting excuse. I graduated college in May and have officially landed my first job. The last month has been crazy busy for me with moving permanently to Des Moines, IA and preparing for my big girl employment.

And that got me thinking…

I’ve dreamed about living in my own apartment, having my own job and money, and becoming friends with my Joey and Chandler-like neighbors my entire life, and now that it’s here it seems a bit strange.

Strange in a way that I didn’t expect. Because I still don’t feel like an adult. And I still haven’t met Joey and Chandler.

I suddenly feel very much alone. I have most of my college friends in Des Moines to hang out with but we all have jobs and responsibilities now. My mom is a quick phone call away, but she’s not here to shield me from the real world anymore.

So my real question is, what do I do now? Now that I’m a real human being? Now that I can have intelligent conversations with the cable guy and cook real foods in my real adult crock-pot? When I’m not at work and my friends are all busy, am I going to be lonely?

Lonely can mean many things in this sense, too. For example, even if I was alone sometimes in school I always had something to do. I had a story I was writing for class or an English paper I had to finish by the next day. I had reading assignments and extracurricular group activities to attend. Now I need to find new hobbies and it’s terrifying and wonderful all at the same time.

We’re creatures of habit, but now I have to break that because I have no habits anymore. So, you see, it’s strange. But it’s not necessarily a bad thing. Maybe I’ll teach myself how to play an instrument or take up something silly like yoga. Maybe I’ll actually take the extra time to cook myself a decent meal. Maybe I’ll finally finish watching “Orange is the New Black.” Maybe I’ll finally get to catch up on that show I always meant to watch on FOX but never did because I was so busy during college. Maybe I’ll get more sleep.

Either way, I have no idea what I’m doing and I couldn’t be more excited about it.

 

Leave a Reply

